The day peace and quiet ran away   20 comments

image

 

Yesterday, I found peace and quiet. I was so excited and overcome that I decided to put them in a safe place so that we could have a proper visit later, when I had a moment to spare. Later came, and well, I think we all know how that story ends. They are now officially missing in action; or is it inaction? I put up some posters in the neighbourhood but no one has called. I fear the worst.

I should have spent more time with them when I had the chance. Now they are gone and I am not sure they are ever coming back. I was going to file a police report but that seemed like a dead end. I knew in my heart of hearts if they had been found by someone, that person was never ever going to admit it, much less return them to me.

I was so careless and cavalier, thinking that there would be time to get to know each other better. I so desperately wanted them to feel at home where I lived; that was wishful thinking. The dogs probably thought they were a stranger and barked them away. Let’s face it they were definitely new to our neighbourhood. Everyone knows peace and quiet can be quite skittish when confronted with two nervous chihuahuas.

The strange thing is that they seemed to enjoy spending time with me as much as I did with them. It seemed that we had a real connection in our short time together. Maybe I was just deluding myself; maybe I was just a rebound for them. They probably had a fight with some Buddhist caught in traffic and needed a soft place to land until the dust settled.

Now, I’m left with 2 radios; one blasting hip hop and the other some sort of angry rap music. The kids are fighting over dishes and my husband is in the garage using tools powered by an air compressor. There are no less than three televisions on, and the dogs are talking to everyone who walks within a block of our house. I’ve been reduced to speaking in a voice loud enough to be heard in Beirut in a vain attempt to get everyone to shut up, shut down, and shut off.

It seems like my life at the moment is not a safe place for peace and quiet to reside. I get it, I guess. Perhaps one day we will meet again. I wonder if we will know each other when and if we do? Will I smile and embrace them as old friends, or will I feel awkward and not know what to do or say? Will I miss what I will have to give up to have them stay? Is losing the busy chaotic bustle of my loved ones when they finally fly the nest the price I’ll have to pay to win them back?

Sadly, with the housing prices these days, I have the sneaking suspicion that my children will be residing with us for a good long time to come. So, I guess I’ll just have to keep looking for peace and quiet and see if maybe they have a guest room I can stay in from time to time.

 

 

 

20 responses to “The day peace and quiet ran away

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very funny, well-written post. If you ever do find peace and quiet again, please send them my way. I would welcome them with open arms and I would be happy to introduce them to my other good, but often absent, friends, rest and relaxation.

  2. Totally saw them last night during date night at a quiet sushi restaurant. Then the babysitter called to say there was a bat in the house. So maybe peace and quiet is still in that sushi place? Hard to say. I may have to stop by there on the way home from the hospital after the rabies shots for three of the four kids in the E.R. to look for P and Q. I’ll let you know if I find them!
    (LOVED this post! It’s absolutely what I needed today.)

  3. Been there done that, not going to do you any good until you can remember where you put them, in my case, finding them again is always a pure accident, only after I forget what it was that I was looking for, what was the question again?
    😳

  4. Peace and quiet will tiptoe in for brief visits and when the waters are clear they will stick around longer. Really. I promise. Hang in there!

  5. I’ve come to the conclusion life is not about peace and quiet…it’a about family, especially in this nose-stuck-in-some-social-media-world. 🙂

  6. oh, how I can relate. I am the only woman in a house with three men, one dog, one inside cat and a host of outdoor ones! I wish you well on your quest. I’ve had minimal success with Peace and Quiet but when I do find them I hold them hostage as long as I can. They always mange to somehow slip away though…

    thanks for this. loved this post!

  7. You always have a way of taking inanimate objects or word phrases and breathing life into them. But it’s more than personification. A style I absolutely am addicted to! Anyhow, I have lots of Peace but no Quiet. And that’s usually because people keep giving me a Piece of their mind. Oh, just realized that’s similar but different. Must be Peace’s evil twin.

    Anyhow, Peace Out!

  8. I think your peace and quiet have run away to live in the same secret commune as my peace and quiet. If I ever track it down I’ll send yours back to you.

  9. I ADORED this post!!!! love it!

  10. Ha ha ha! Loved it. I am totally amazed how animated that duo are. Thank you for the chuckles… P. and Q. will return…(umm just don’t know when.). 🙂

  11. Awesome! That’ll teach everyone to mind their P’s and Q’s! 😛

Leave a Reply

The Lab Report

Fake pet news. Follow us on Twitter @hellolabreport

Tea first, panic later.

One girl's story of fighting mental illness in the big city

