If it doesn’t fit…..you just convict.   16 comments

Last weekend I decided to get a new door for our pantry. The old one and our family had had a parting of the ways. If I were to tell the story I would say that it was poorly crafted and lacked the required opening and closing ability that I require of a door. If it (the door) were to tell it, you would probably hear that the constant slamming and rough housing were responsible for its demise. Regardless I’m not about to play the blame game with a door. So out with the old and in with the new.

Now if you have been following any of my previous columns you might be aware that if there is an easy way to do things we will generally opt to not do it that way. I’m not sure exactly why that is but it does seem like it is a particularly common theme for us and (spoiler alert) this time was no exception.

So off to the home building store we went. I hadn’t done my usual on line pre shop so we were flying a bit blind, but we eventually did decide on one and brought it , home. The salesman had indicated that it was extremely easy to install and we should have it hung in about 15 minutes. Now I’m not saying that was the deciding factor on the one we chose but it definitely did make it one of the more appealing choices.

In the past I have generally chosen to let my husband handle the installations of most household upgrades. But with the wounds still rather fresh from the latest dishwasher escapade I decided to be an active participant this time. Facebook friends would have to wait.

We emptied out the pantry and prepared for the quick and easy hanging of our beautiful new door. It was 11am. The first sign that things were not going well happened about 10 minutes after. Apparently the door was a little too tall. This was all sounding a little too familiar for my taste and I was starting to get a little anxious. Why is it so hard to remember to measure things? Properly. The first time. I cannot answer that… It just is.

So okay next steps. Do we take the door back? No. Do I walk away and contemplate the limited options that are available. NO!! Been there and done that. I stood firmly beside my husband and said the phrase that always comes to mind when my house is being uncooperative.

” we should just move.” This house is too complicated for us. It doesn’t “fit” our needs”. It’s being totally unreasonable.

So after about another 20 minutes of back and forth speculation we came to a decision the flooring would have to come up. No big deal it was laminate easy to reinstall. After we had removed the flooring we tried to hang it again. No luck. So we decided to cut up the floor board. Yes we were now cutting things again.

One more time to no avail. Still not enough variance to hang this thing. My husband was eyeing up my tile with a little too much interest and I saw where this was headed. We were going all in and he was cutting out the tile. It’s 1:30pm and I was about to call that very helpful salesman and share some thoughts with him. Easy install??? I don’t think so.

Tile has now been chewed up and destroyed and I was having some serious flashbacks. The good news is that this time we were successful in hanging my beautiful new door. The bad news….well let’s just say one simple project has given birth to several new projects that will no doubt in time have babies of its own.

                                                                         Image

 

 

m>

 

Posted April 20, 2014 by janyceresh in Uncategorized

16 responses to “If it doesn’t fit…..you just convict.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You might have had a wee bit o bother hanging your door and maybe a few more jobs need to be done than they did before.it was all well worth for the fits of laughter you had me in. I was having a rather mundane uneventful day until I read your post..now life has taken on a bit of spice and it feels all cosy warm and safe…hope the door stays on….don, t fall into the hole where no tiles or floorboards are…. greag post I thoroughly enjoyed it

  2. I feel your pain but I can’t help but laugh out loud at the way you share it. I have outgrown my home and the For Sale sign is outside – thinking a brand new home might last me a while!

  3. Murphy’s Law exemplified! I hope your new baby projects go better.

  4. This is why, shine the day my boys were born, I have told them NEVER buy a house. The happiest people I know, and those who have the most fun and less stress haven’t ever owned one :)

  5. I’d go in search of a second husband. No need to get rid of the one you’ve got, but a handier man around would do you both wonders. You could be drinking tequila whilst husband 2 does the handyman stuff. (P.s. I haven’t tried it but the reverse seems to satisfy millions of men worldwide)

  6. I’m tired just reading this! How frustrating that must be!

  7. Oh my, you guys are brave and persistent! The door itself couldn’t be shaved?
    Diana xo

    • That’s what I kept thinking. Then I remembered, “Now if you have been following any of my previous columns you might be aware that if there is an easy way to do things we will generally opt to not do it that way.” :) oh my!

  8. You have such a humorous way of telling a story; I laughed, and enjoyed this post, and then I felt guilty for laughing! But I think one of the reasons I laughed was because this hit so close to home. It just seems like those things that are “simple”. . . aren’t. I admire you and your husband for doing these projects yourselves. I think that would be very rewarding. (We don’t even try, LOL ! We have to get help even to do things that truly ARE simple.) Glad you got your beautiful door hung!

  9. I am glad I am not the only one who suffers from this. Luckily I live a short distance away from a major hardware store. Sometimes there are 4 trips as the scope of the original project expands. :-)

  10. There are never any easy home improvement projects. I am glad you were finally able to get the door hung, and that it looks like you’ll have more stories to tell about the resulting baby projects.

  11. The older we get, the more we hire other people for house and car projects. We’ve learned that it is money well spent. We’re going to have to have a garage sale and sell some of our power tools.

  12. Been here 10 years, still thinking about a new door for en-suite bathroom. Your story just set my project back another year at least. I’m soooo grateful. Hope my wife doesn’t try the second husband idea.

  13. LOL! you an my hubby must be related, this is exactly what he does, starts with something relatively easy and before you know it we are close to getting divorced or he is up to his eyes patching with duct tape and putty!

  14. You are so calm! My husband and I would not have been speaking by the end.

Leave a Reply

JustUs Society

After all, who else is there... well except for aliens?

lucybluecastle

Promotion and prattle from author Lucy Blue

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,004 other followers

